48. Political Genocide, Impunity and Crimes Against Peace in Colombia (2020-2021)

The Judgment of the Permanent Peoples’ Tribunal (PPT) on Political Genocide, Impunity and Crimes Against Peace in Colombia was issued on June 17, 2021, in Bogota.

The PPT panel of judges, composed of Raúl Vera, Andrés Barreda, Lottie Cunningham, Esperanza Martínez, Graciela Daleo, Daniel Feierstein, Luis Moita, Antoni Pigrau Solé, Mireille Fanon, Michel Forst, Philippe Texier, Luciana Castellina, and Luigi Ferrajoli, recognized the Colombian State guilty of the crime of genocide, carried out during the decades of the twentieth century and with greater atrocity during the last nineteen governments, with a central role assumed by the governments chaired by Álvaro Uribe Vélez (years 2002 – 2010).